Member Login

Our History

Modern Classics

The Tom McBroom signature is synonymous with premier golf courses across Canada and around the world. In the past 20 years, McBroom has created a stunning collection of modern classics distinguished by their detail and craftsmanship, strategic intrigue and great beauty.

The foundation of his work is a profound understanding and fascination with the history and tradition of the game in combination with his own unique creative flair and vision. The hallmark of a McBroom course is a design that takes full advantage of modern technology but stays true to the traditions and spirit of the game's early courses. 

Every Tom McBroom design captures the unique character of the landscape so that each course possesses its own distinct personality, charm and playing experience. Whether he's crafting a new course or restoring a weary masterpiece, Tom McBroom's passion to create courses that stir the golfer's soul is demonstrated proudly in every design that bears his signature. 

Established in 1894

Established in 1894 and 2011 moved alongside the meandering LaSalle River and Trappist Monastery Provincial Heritage Park, the 18-hole course was designed by renowned Canadian Architect Thomas McBroom to the highest standards.

Our History

“For a long time there has been a great need among Winnipeg golfers for a permanent eighteen (18) hole golf course at a convenient distance from the city, and served by the Street Railway as well as a paved road, making it accessible for all weather. And so it is with the aim of a perfectly laid out eighteen (18 ) hole course with its attendant commodious club house, which can be reached either by auto or street car, that this appeal is made to rally round the means to a newer, bigger and better game of golf.” Excerpts from Prospectus for the Southwood Golf Club - An amalgamation of the Norwood Golf Club, Est. 1894 and the Winnipeg Hunt Golf Club. 

And so began efforts to create a distinct golf experience for south Winnipeg and the first major championship level golf course in Manitoba. 

The club itself already had an illustrious history, originating as the Norwood Golf Club, also known as the Winnipeg Golf Club in 1894. A few years later, in the early 1900’s, the Winnipeg Hunt Club was established. In an undated article, Lillian Gibbons, a long-time reporter for the Winnipeg Tribune, wrote, “A group of men who loved to ride formed the Winnipeg Hunt Club, built stables, kennels, grooms’ quarters, imported hounds from England, wore pink coats, carried their whips and with a joyous ‘Hallooo’, were off through the bush of Fort Garry.” Ms. Gibbons describes how the riding enthusiasts would return from the hunt to their magnificent clubhouse, built in 1913, for dinners served on glossy damask, set with heavy English silver and crystal. She finishes with “Their glory was short-lived” as by 1914, men who could ride were off to war as cavalry officers. Shortage of game and the advent of the automobile have also been blamed for the eventual end of the Hunt Club. 

More Information

Time for a different game

With the demise of the hunt, in 1918, seven golf holes were built and the Club became known as the Winnipeg Hunt Golf Club. The popularity of golf was quickly taking hold in Manitoba and in 1919, an amalgamation was proposed between the committees of the Norwood Golf Club and the Winnipeg Hunt Golf Club.

Additional land was acquired from the Agricultural College (site of the University of Manitoba) and the proposal was made and accepted to form the Southwood Golf Club in 1919. At the time, members were required to purchase 600 shares at a cost of $150.00. Annual dues ran from $65 for “Gentlemen Members” to $20 for “Lady Members” and $10 for junior members. Green fees ran from .50 to $2. Like today, payment for shares could be made in installments so as not to cause undue hardship for members.

The original course was designed by Willlie Park, Junior from Musselburgh, Scotland, winner of the British Open in 1887 and 1889. The course was re-designed in later years by Stanley Thompson and was the acclaimed architect’s first 18-hole design in Canada. Southwood remained an active and vibrant club throughout the turbulent years of the early 20th century, responsive to its members and a changing world. The club has been host to a number of major championship events over the decades, including the Manitoba Open.

The grand, original clubhouse, built in 1913 was destroyed by fire in 1935. The former living quarters for Hunt Club staff was then used as the clubhouse until a new clubhouse was built in 1957. The club was reincorporated to become the Southwood Golf & Country Club in 1956.

As a descendant of the Winnipeg Golf Club (a.k.a. Norwood Golf Club), established in 1894, the Royal Canadian Golf Association recognizes Southwood as the oldest 18-hole golf course in Manitoba.

" WOW, what a feeling in the room on Thursday night when the results of the vote were announced. There was a tremendous excitement and anticipation for our new Southwood becoming a reality. The mood didn’t slow down at the Club where we celebrated and toasted our future. You could feel the emotion in peoples’ voices. We are in store for exciting times as our project unfolds.”

-Board President’s Message, June 2007 Inforemer

Club on the move

While the location on Markham Road had served the club well from its early beginnings, discussions to move the club began as far back as the early 1960‘s. While it’s not clear what the concerns were, lack of space to expand as well as the early effects of erosion on the riverbank holes were likely causes. In 1966 the Club acquired 240 acres of riverfront property in LaSalle, Manitoba. An ambitious proposal was put forward that included development of a championship 27-hole course, superb clubhouse, swimming pool and tennis courts. The plan was eventually withdrawn however due to high interest rates, escalating costs and opposition raised at the civic level as the property had been designated as green space. The 1976 yearly club summary states, “Hopes for rezoning of the Southwood property (in LaSalle) appeared to be very dim.” The LaSalle property was sold in 1982.

Earlier, in 1960, a proposal had been put forward to relocate the Strathcona Curling Club to the Southwood location on Markham Road. This plan was voted down by shareholders in 1961.

The need to look seriously at moving escalated in mid-2000 as the club became plagued by eroding riverbanks, encroaching housing and ever-increasing traffic along the University of Manitoba’s busiest thoroughfare. What started as a dream of the board and membership at the time, escalated into a feasible plan and vision for the future that gained momentum and ultimately approval in early 2007.

The pieces were in place and a multi-year project began to move Southwood 8 km down the road to a sprawling 297 acre location in St. Norbert.

It’s a new game

Excitement. Challenge. Inspiration. A new game every time you play.

That’s what the Southwood Golf & Country Club of today promises to deliver. Poised graciously alongside the meandering LaSalle River and Trappist Monastery Provincial Heritage Park, the 18-hole course was designed by renowned Canadian Architect Thomas McBroom to the highest standards. The spectacular natural and historic surroundings provide a perfect setting. Tree groves, river valley and historic ruins have been left largely untouched, while natural contours of the land are maximized to create distinct landmarks, shadows, hills and ridges. An additional 9 holes are planned for the future.

The clubhouse’s beautiful design measures up to the grandeur of the first clubhouse, built in 1913. Nestled close to a grove of mature oaks overlooking the rustic river bank, members and guests are treated to a nostalgic view of the river and monastery on one side and the sprawling golf course on the other.

The approach looks good from here

Steeped in history and a tradition of excellence and success, Southwood is looking ahead to an exciting and eventful future. A future you should be a part of.